NaNoWriMo – Update [3]

Another NaNo-week. What I find really interesting at this point is that my outlook on the whole endeavor changes. First few days, I was mostly excited and wrote to write. First full week was more thoughtful but mostly fun and games. And now…

I feel that it’s time to think more about the story, to see where it is going. I just thought the other day that it was more important to worry about what happens than the word count. It’s just the way I work. I feel that I’ve come a ways by just hacking away but if I don’t stop and think for a while, the story goes down the drain. I don’t want that.

So, I took a day off yesterday to think what I want to happen, to make some notes, to get back to plotting just a little – not a lot. I like to know what happens, and I hadn’t thought about these things at all before starting this NaNo-venture.

But I did some writing this last week. I’m now at 15.294 words, chapter 9. I’m not really happy with the chapters and haven’t got a grip on how long this will actually be in the end. I need to put a little more headwork into the story, get a better feel for the structure. I haven’t written yet today, maybe I won’t.

You probably think I’m getting lazy, and you would be right, too. And you would be wrong. Sometimes writing is not writing at all, but acquainting oneself with one’s story. And I know NaNo is deliberately about ‘the writing,’ hacking away at words, to do. But if I don’t know my story, I lose interest, and then I might just stop caring. Meaning, I need to know more.

Where am I? Wells and Christine (the woman from the book store) sort through her mother’s library. They find a first edition of Lawrence’s Sons and Lovers and after Christine leaves, Wells finds a couple more. In Wharton’s The Touchstone, she finds a handwritten dedication to her mother, and assumes that it must be a fake. She’s angry and disappointed with her mother. She meets her mother’s friend Martin, and they argue about who Elizabeth really was.

So far. Next up is the reading of Elizabeth’s Last Will and the funeral… and hopefully, Wells will travel through time soon. I’m a little scared about that part, especially when it omes to the time machine, how it works, and, of course, the history. But I’m also excited and eager – writing, you know.

Carpe tempus, lovelies.

What do you think?

