NaNoWriMo – Update [5]

nanowrimo-failed

I’d like to have a button that reads ‘I failed NaNoWriMo 2014.’ You see, I would like to acknowledge that I participated but didn’t win. I don’t think that failing is the end of the world, for one, I’m not THAT ambitious. And for another, I learned enough by not winning that I don’t feel it’s a complete bust.

What did I learn, you ask? I learned that November is a bad month for me to do NaNo. I know most people feel ambiguous about November, it’s probably the least liked month of the year – at least, it is for people who make calendars, because, I swear, all the November-pictures are god-awful. But, for me, I love November. I like the first cold wind that bursts into my jacket and makes me shiver. I like hot cocoa when it’s freezing outside. I even still like Christmas, because November has the feel of it but not the stress. It’s all good, plus it falls into the vortex of a three-month-period when most of the people in my family have their birthdays. To make a long story short – it’s a bad month for writing.

Hence, I have decided to have my own personal NaNo – I may call it MyNoWriMo – in a different month next year. It’ll probably be June. June is nice, but it’s not as super-aweseome as November. It’s warm enough to write outside and when it’s too warm I’ll be indoors anyway, so I might as well write. Also, I once did write a complete novel in June, might as well try that again.

For this year, I wrote 15,294 words in about 14 days, that’s not too bad. I can add a short story to that of about 6,500 words and a couple of blog posts, which puts my word count for this month at roughly 25,000 words. I feel that this is a success and am not ashamed at all.

I have some plans for next year, and one is a project that has been bugging me for some time now. It’s a supernatural story with vampires and werewolves and the likes – you can call it my take on Twilight (but not to my face!). It will have a super-awesome heroine, the hottest vampire in the universe, a wizard, some humans, and some evil creatures. I’ll tell you more about this in my next post about my upcoming projects for 2015 – unless I make it a super-secret project then you’ll have to forget everything you just read.  Anyway, this project is for MyNoWriMo 2015.

Tell me about your own experience with NaNoWriMo in the comments. Did you win? Awesome! Did you fail? I’m sure you learned something and will try again next year. So, that’s awesome, too.

So far – carpe tempus, lovelies.

What do you think?

