NaNoWriMo Update [2015.2]

gale-zombiediaries

I guess a title change was in order, just so I don’t get too confused or confusing by using the same title too often (I might be planning to participate in NaNo years to come). That’s not the only change I made if you’ve seen my Home-page. Yes, it’s English only now, but I will add another page for my German Neuigkeiten.

That, however, has nothing to do with NaNo, I’m just a little more productive these days. But NaNo…it’s still going well, though I had two days of procrastination so far. It had a little to do with finishing Halfway Home. I don’t know what you do when you just finished a novel, but I usually take a couple of days to regroup, decide on a new project, let it all sink in.

This being NaNo, that wasn’t really possible. I had a hard time deciding what to do next. And, yes, I know I made that perfectly good list for the projects I wanted to write, but I’m kinda bad at following simple lists. I needed a new project.

So, because I had such a good time writing about werewolves (you can read Courage here and here now), I wanted to go back to the supernatural. And now I’m doing a zombie story. It’s for a submission call, so there are some directions to follow, but I have a good feeling about Gale: The Zombie Diaries. And, of course, I had to make a cover to go with it (you may have noticed the header looking a little different, I put up some covers of stories written, to be written, maybe never to be written who knows).

Yesterday was half-time NaNo and I reached my 25k words through sprints and some actual continual writing. The great thing about the NaNo sprints (you’re not familiar? it’s a twitter feed with great prompts and timed sprints @NaNoWordSprints) is that they go well with the diary style I’m writing. The prompts are so random and I get to write some additional diary entries using totally unrelated themes. It’s great.

So, NaNo is still a go at my house. How are you doing? Leave me a comment to let me know. Also: you’re awesome. Your writing is worth the effort. Go, writer, go!!!

What do you think?

