What’s happening?

I guess I took the title of my last post too literally; I took an unselfconscious break from blogging here. Books have been read since, hardly any words written, though. I’ve worked a little, helped others out, painted and drew. I feel creative, stuff is happening.

As far as writing goes, yeah well. I haven’t done much, but I feel that I’m on my way to remedy that. I’ll be doing some rewriting these next two months, also some editing.

Let me tell you about that: my short story Wrote Trip has been accepted for publication in the anthology Finding Ms. Write by Ylva Publishing. I’m so proud. Look at the beautiful Finding Ms. Write500x800cover! Anyway, that story needs some editing before the anthology’s going to come out in June. It’s the simply story of two women meeting as one of them hitchhikes a ride from the other. I like simple stories, I’m fascinated by the meeting of souls who cling to each other instinctively.

The rewriting project is a superhero story, or rather superheroine. Ghosts of Helltown is pretty old. It’s actually my first writing project that I wrote in English, hence the intensive rewriting! But I’ve started and it’s not entirely hopeless, though as of yet unfinished. I’m excited about this story. For once, it brought me back to drawing and painting, as I’m trying to figure out a costume for my superhero. That’s just a hobby, and I haven’t done any of it for far too long.ghost

And then, there’s of course the genre. I find myself a little obsessed with superheroes lately. As the billboards tell us, I’m not the only one. And as so many others, I’m more of a Marvel person than DC. I never liked Batman much and these days, all that comes out from DC seems to take itself far too seriously. That’s my take. Of course, both franchises are guilty of favoring white, straight dudes (yeah, I know Deadpool is pansexual, but obviously he’s the exception to the rule).

Well, this novella/novel series by Ylva will be all about female heroes who love other females, maybe heroes too, maybe sidekicks, maybe villains? Well, I’m looking forward to reading them all. But first I’ll be going down to Hell(town) and write my own. EXCITED!!!

What do you think?

