I’m writing [5]

Looking up which number to put into the brackets, I realized that the last installment of ‘I’m writing’ was in November. I’m such a slacker but I’m trying not to be on my own case so much. After all, it’s my time – I don’t wanna spend it nagging at myself.

And I am writing and I am proud of my progress.

Ghosts of Helltown1I’ve already told you about Ghosts of Helltown a little. It’s the story of Jennifer Clarke who is a kind of superhero. She works for a company that uses her powers for the Greater Good, at least that what Jen thinks is happening. When Alice Watson, a reporter fresh off the British isles, moves in next to her Jen starts rethinking a lot of her former beliefs. There’s a love story in there, and a big explosive showdown with the villains.

The thing about Ghosts of Helltown is that it’s really old. I started writing this over ten years ago.It was the first novel I intended to write in English. There are so many mistakes in the current draft but on the whole… it’s not half-bad. And that’s why I ultimately came back to it.

If you’re a writer you probably have projects like this on your computer: ideas, unfinished manuscripts, maybe even finished drafts which haven’t yet made it to the front of your revision-line. Maybe like me, you have a folder ‘unfinished’ on your computer. Maybe you have folder named ‘unlikely candidates’ too? They’re the rejects of an overstimulated mind.

But you do have stories started, projects imagined on your PC or in your mind that you just can’t forget about. I think it’s good to go back to them every once in a while. Maybe your imagination wasn’t ready for it yet, maybe you lacked experience or didn’t want to do the research. Maybe you thought you were lacking in some other department of the brain. Well, it’s still there, you know. You could give it another try. Or you could leave it lying just a little bit longer.

As for Ghosts of Helltown, its time has come. I’m working feverishly on its completion. And ghostit makes me incredibly happy to have come back to it. Some manuscripts are just worth getting back to. I’m sure you have a couple of those as well. Wanna tell me about them in the comments? Go ahead.

Publication date for Ghosts of Helltown is April 2017 by Ylva Publishing.

[The cover you see above I created myself, it’s not the official cover. The copyright for the photo lies with Paramount Pictures (not making any money with it, guys, I just borrowed it to play around with some ideas), from the film Aeon Flux with Charlize Theron.]

 

What do you think?

