NaNoWriMo Prep [2016]

typewriter1

Ah, yes, it’s late in September. The temperatures are going down, though we had a rather late summer and we still get the occasional hot day. I’m really hoping for a balmy October, Indian Summer style. It’s also time for thinking about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, for those who do not know).

In November, writerlings all over the globe are going to retreat into their chambers, balance their portable devices on their laps and in their hands and write a novel – hopefully. 50,000 words, to be exact, is the aim. The excitement of newbies is already palpable, while repeat offenders are still busy doing other stuff and probably start preparations in the last week of October, just put it in before Halloween.

Well, I’ve started thinking about some projects, that is if I’m able to complete my current project before November (please, please, let me finish it before NaNo!) I’m actually trying to overhaul my writing regimen (if you can call it that) these days, and I’m almost back to book1writing every day, writing about 2,000 words a day. It feels good, but it’s not set in stone, because my mental health is unstable to say the least.

But, I’m still planning, still thinking about possible novels/novellas I’d like to write/finish for NaNo. Will it be the Austenesque love story I started ages ago and would so like to finish? Or maybe 2015’s NaNo attempt at a time traveller novel? Yes? No? Maybe I’ll be writing a thriller about a bondsperson and a P.I. who really need to get a room and solve the mystery around a small-time ciminal. Or what about that thing with the two women who were… ah, never mind. It’s all really vague, but I’m still excited about the concept of NaNo.

What about you? Do you have plans to participate again or for the first time? Are you already outlining your novel, or are you writing by the seat of your pants? Genre? Tell me in the comments. And if you need a writing buddy: Corikane‘s the name.

And if you’ve never come across NaNo, here’s a helpful link: www.Nanowrimo.org

See you there.

What do you think?

